Forum home Tools and techniques

Sharpening tools

I am interested in sharpening my gardening tools, which includes secateurs, shears, loppers etc, could anyone recommend something for this please? Is it possible for one device or do i need several? I have a 'tool sharp' but can't say i am that impressed, unless i am doing something wrong, which is quite possible! What do you use and how often? t i a 

• GemmaJFGemmaJF Posts: 2,286
    Cigar pattern scythe stone 
  • Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 29,053
    I've been gardening for almost 50 years and I've never ,ever sharpened any of my tools. 
    Devon.
  • wild edgeswild edges The north west of south east WalesPosts: 6,520
    If they're fairly blunt then a diamond coated stone will make short work of getting an edge back on them. Using a flat stone takes a bit of practice to get the angles right and consistant but means you don't have to get a different sharpener for each tool if they all have different angles. Ceramic stones are great for quick touch ups as they don't remove metal and that will make the tools last longer.
    Unlike the brain, the stomach warns you when it's empty.
  • MeomyeMeomye Posts: 702
    Thanks @GemmaJF and @wild edges i will look into those.
    @Hostafan1 I am fascinated that you have never had to sharpen any of your tools as i know you have had some for many years. I must be totally doing something wrong as my tools are always blunt and ripping stems etc, i know i occasionally overstretch my secateurs/loppers for stems/branches that are too thick for them. :(
  • Fran IOMFran IOM Posts: 1,471
    Spam ???
  • Fran IOM said:
    Spam ???
    Huh?
  • AnniDAnniD Posts: 8,229
    @EternalSunshine , I think Fran was worried that your post might be construed as advertising (against forum rules). I'm sure you weren't , but you'd be surprised how often it happens.
  • KiliKili Posts: 714
    edited May 2020