Forum home The potting shed

Advice on removing broken trellis a large plant has grown through

Hi there, I am completely new to gardening and looking for advice please! When we moved into or home last year we inherited the attached pictures-trellis and plant .....As you can see the plant / tree (which I have been unable to identify-I am a complete newbie!) has grown through the trellis. The trellis is broken in many places and the paint on the wall behind it really cracked and crumbling. We thought we might like to remove the entire trellis and re paint the wall. However don't think there is any way we can do this while the plant remains. We don't particularly love it, but do like the way it adds height to the wall and more of a sense of privacy, and it has lovely purple flowers in later Spring/Early Summer and the bees seem to like it. We are also wondering could the plant possibly damage the wall if it continues to grow.
We are wondering if we should remove the plant and trellis completely or try to remove/repair the trellis while trying to keep the plant. Thanks so much for any thoughts or advice!

• byrnen4byrnen4 Posts: 3
    Apologies, just realised I posted this in the wrong area, I should have posted it under problem solving instead of the potting shed, but don't know how to change it!
  • nick615nick615 SW IrelandPosts: 815

The trellis is certainly past its sell by date, but I don't think it'll take much to remove it, and I think you could make a definite case for keeping the 'tree' for your own and the bees' enjoyment.  How the tree is held on to the wall is unclear but, once the trellis is no longer there, it may be possible to hold it way from the wall while you erect some other form of support, before again tying it back with e.g. cable ties.