Forum home Problem solving

Portuguese Laurel Issues

Hi, I’m new to all this gardening and about last Oct we had a row of Portuguese Laurel planted (about 120 plants) to form a new boundary between our neighbour and ourselves. Previous to this we had about 20 forty foot wide, forty foot tall leylandii trees. I spent all last summer taking them down and I hired a stump grinder to taken the stumps down as far as I could. The new Portuguese Laurel trees were about three foot tall and in pots, bought from a very reputable nursery and they were planted about a foot and a half apart. It’s was a very windy Winter and about a month ago we started to worry they weren’t doing well. The top of the trees seemed in worse condition that the bottom half. The leaves up top look more curled in and a lot of them yellowish and spotty. Some have a few holes in them and there is one in particular we’re the leaves have went brown and falling off but that’s the only one like that. 

After inspecting the plants they seem to have been planted into a hole just about the size of the pot and on some of them plant was half out of the ground with the wind and it looks like the hole is so small that part of the plant was in the surface. No compost or bone meal was used when planting and the soil is probably not the best and the remains of the leylandii stumps are still in there somewhere underground too. 

I got some advice and because I have time on my hands (furloughed with Covid 19) I replanted the whole row of plants. I move them all out from the wire fence about two foot, dug a bigger hole, placed some compost in the hole, sprinkled some bone meal in, waters that with a bit of water mixed with miracle grow and put the plant back in. I soaked the plant in water and miracle grow when doing all that for a few minutes and I finished by putting some sprinkling some bone meal at the base of the replanted tree.