Forum home Problem solving

Pyrus Chanticleer not blooming

Hi. I'm a complete novice to gardening so I'm hoping someone here can help me. I planted 3x 14' pyrus chanticleer in mid-March to screen off a new property build to the rear of my garden. Since planting, the trees have gradually started to produce leaves, but I have no white flowers which I believe are common for this time of year. The trees cost me a considerable amount of money and I'm a.bit concerned that I haven't done something correctly to look after them since they have gone in. If anyone knows if this is common with them being newly planted it would certainly out my mind at ease. Thanks

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 82,102
    Hi @chrisgough92 and welcome  :)

A photo of your trees and where they’re situated, a description of the site and soil and how it was prepared for planting, together with details of their care since planting will help us to advise you. 

However my first thought is that large trees planted only a few weeks ago are hopefully putting their energy into developing a substantial root system to provide the energy for the top growth ... flowers are of secondary importance at this stage. 
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• pansyfacepansyface PEAK DISTRICT DerbyshirePosts: 21,177
    A photo would help get an idea of what the trees look like in terms of height and bulk etc.

Also, were they supplied pot-grown or bare root?

Are they well staked? 

However, without the benefit of a photo or other information, I would venture to suggest the following. 

The trees have only just been planted. They are literally still finding their feet. Their roots will not have had time to make proper contact with the soil yet and will be struggling to take up water to supply the top growth. Are you keeping them well watered? I mean well watered?