Forum home Problem solving

How hard can I prune back this (?)choisya?

zsedenyzsedeny SomersetPosts: 32
I’m a beginner gardener. I’ve inherited this choisya (I think that’s what it is) and it’s very bare/leggy at the base. I think I’m right in saying I should wait till the last frost and then I can prune it. My question is, can I cut it right down to the base so that I get rid of all that bare wood? It will that kill it? South is on the left beyond the fence and it looks like it’s reaching out for the sun ... Thanks in advance.

• Lizzie27Lizzie27 SomersetPosts: 10,493
    Welcome to the forum. Your choisya does look a bit straggly and you're right, it's trying to lean out towards the sunshine. You could try putting up some wires on the fence and gently tie it back or prune by about one-third of the straggly growth straight after flowering or anytime between now and say mid-May. Then give it some slow release fertiliser pellets (according to the instructions) and keep it well watered if it doesn't rain much wherever you are.  Good luck!
  • zsedenyzsedeny SomersetPosts: 32
    Thanks very much Lizzie. I’ve tried trying it back but it doesn’t want to budge! If I cut back all branches by a third, I think I’ll lose most of the leaves. I’m happy to do this with the long term benefit in mind. Do you specify 1/3 because you would not recommend removing more than that for the health of the shrub? 
  • Tanty2Tanty2 Posts: 213