Forum home Problem solving

Growing vegetables in vermiculite and perlite

hello folks,

I've been attempting to grow seedlings of mixed lettuce and spinach in a mix of 50:50 vermiculite and perlite. I've been adding fertiliser regularly, everything sprouted but things seem to have stopped (or maybe I'm being impatient?) and the seedlings look a little yellow to me. A few have sprouted extra leaves, but not many. Any suggestions? I might be over- or under- fertilising, or perhaps using the wrong thing (just simple Miracle-Gro, bright blue crystals). 

I'm no expert (sure you can tell) so even simple advice is welcome.

Left and right sections have mixed lettuce, middle section is a type of spinach (or chard - can't remember!)

• punkdocpunkdoc Posts: 13,277
    My question, would be, why? Whats wrong with soil?
    There are ashtrays of emulsion,
    for the fag ends of the aristocracy.

S.Yorkshire/Derbyshire border
  • FairygirlFairygirl Posts: 50,346
    Expensive too!
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

I live in west central Scotland - not where that photo is...
  • NollieNollie Posts: 6,773
    Well, being generous and assuming you have no access to soil or compost, but had a few bags of perlite and vermiculite to hand, as those are fairly inert growing mediums, designed merely to aid drainage and aid water retention of a soil/potting mix, all your plant nutrient needs rely on what you feed them, a bit like hydroponics. Miracle grow and the like are designed to boost plant growth in said soil/potting mix, so may be entirely unsuitable. So research the hydroponic nutrient needs of those particular plants.

Your troughs look smart, but where is the drainage? It could be a boggy, oxygen-deprived hostile environment in there. Also, most plant pots, etc., are black or dark-coloured to exclude light, as roots need to grow in the dark.

Looks like you are growing indoors, do the plants have enough light?

A few things to think about.