Forum home Problem solving

Help please

Hi guys
I am totally new to gardening and any help you could give me would be really appreciated.
I want to grow some fruit and veg in my garden but it has been neglected for years. Some parts are dry and cracked, other parts have dandelions and grass growing in them. 
I started digging the grass and dandelions out but the roots are really deep in the soil.
Is there any way I can remove the weeds and be able to grow fruit and veg?
Thank you for any help you can give

• AnniDAnniD South West UKPosts: 11,021
    Welcome to the forum  :)
    My personal advice would be to keep on with the digging (it's good exercise at the moment ! )
    You could use weedkiller if you had any, but in order to plant vegetables ground preparation is important,  and digging it over and removing as many weeds as you can is the best way to start.
    Giving them a good start pays dividends in the long run. 

• Thank you for your advice ☺️ I did consider weed killer for the really imbedded roots.
    so if there are roots still left when I’ve dug the garden over will it affect any seeds I plant?
    thanks again
  • herbaceousherbaceous OxfordshirePosts: 2,313
    Not to be too negative @aj_shepherd you will be digging out weeds for some years yet, doesn't mean you can't grow veg in the meantime. My Dad used to say growing your own food is all about P's - persistence, planting and patience and I still have his voice in my head as each year I dig out the wind blown dandelions.

On the plus side it gets easier each year so yes, welcome and good luck  :)
    "The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it."  Sir Terry Pratchett
  • Thanks for your comment @herbaceous. I will remember your dads advice when I’m out digging!
  • AnniDAnniD South West UKPosts: 11,021
  • AnniD said:
    Thanks for the article...really useful stuff 
  • GemmaJFGemmaJF Posts: 2,286