Forum home Tools and techniques

New to gardening questions raised bed

Hello

I am very new to gardening.
I have a raised bed and want to plant vegetables and fruit.

1. Can strawberry plants be planted with tomatoes and carrots?

2. what material/cover can I use to cover my raised bed?

3. is top soil the same as mulching? I’m struggling to get well rotted manure so looking for other options.

many thanks! 

• robairdmacraignilrobairdmacraignil CorkPosts: 669
    1. Harvesting your carrots would probably disturb the roots of the other two so those would not be an ideal mix of plants in my opinion. Tomatoes are hungry plants so not sure they would like competition.

2. Growing plants is usually what would cover a well cultivated raised bed.

3. Top soil is the most nutrient rich portion of the soil found near the surface and it is improved by mulching which is the practice of putting organic material on top of the soil like wood chips that protect it from damage from heavy rain and help reduce the amount of unwanted plants/weeds sprouting. Mulching can also help retain moisture in the soil and helps prevent some plants being damaged by wind rocking them too much. Well rotted manure would have more nutrient to add to the soil compared to wood chips which would take longer to break down but a variety of organic materials can be used if you are not able to get well rotted manure. Home made compost could be used or even grass clippings. It is better not to mulch on to dry soil as it will make it more difficult for rain to get into the soil to re-hydrate it for your plants.
  • SmudgeriiSmudgerii Posts: 185
    You don’t say how big the bed will be..

1. yes if you have enough space that you don’t disturb the other veg/fruit when you harvest 

2. Cover with cardboard and plant through it, water the bed beforehand and then soak the cardboard.  Looks a bit shabby though...