Forum home Problem solving

Flowering cherry pruning help please

PaulineRPaulineR Posts: 3
edited April 2020 in Problem solving
I have finally got my own garden after renting for years but am a total newbie. In the new house there is a flowering cherry - Prunus Hanagasa (pink parasol) but it doesn’t have a good shape. It has got a handful of low lateral branches but the main stem is very tall and spindly. I have no idea how old the tree is either but is clearly quite young. 

Can it be pruned to a better shape or will I need to live with it? And if so, where should I cut? 
From what I have read prunus are prone to silver leaf so would need to do anything just after flowering in good weather and maybe(?) use wound paint. 

Thank you!

• robairdmacraignilrobairdmacraignil CorkPosts: 669
    edited April 2020
    You should be careful with pruning cherry as you say because of the potential for them to become diseased so I would say don't do any pruning until July and then just in dry weather as you mention. The most recent material on tree pruning I have seen seems to agree that wound paint can cause more trouble by sealing in potential pathogens in the plant so should be avoided. If you take off any diseased or crossing branches that could potentially rub off each other first then it might help you decide on what pruning to do to shape the tree.
  • PaulineRPaulineR Posts: 3
    Thanks! I’m unsure though with the current appearance where to cut. How can I encourage more lateral growth lower down and can/should I cut back the long spindly main stem (pic in main post) 
    there’s some nice lateral lower growth, then a long bare trunk, then 1 more lateral quite high then just long bare main stem. I would like to have a more balanced tree. 
  • robairdmacraignilrobairdmacraignil CorkPosts: 669