Forum home Problem solving

Newbie to gardening, scarifying the grass.

Hi all,

im new to gardening when it comes to being advanced, I’ve owned my own home for 5 years and done the basics, cutting the grass, weeding etc.

however I noticed last year there was a load of moss, more moss than grass intact, so I decided to invest in a scarifying machine, Bosch alr 900.

a week ago I used my evergreen+ spreader and used the mircle-gro 4 in 1 moss killer and lawn feed, I left it for a week and I scarified the grass today, I went up and down twice and across twice as I was told to do it in two different directions.

please see the the image (large lawn in the right has been scarified) is it suppose to look like that? I hope I haven’t ruined the grass.

i am awaiting for some grass seeds to be delivered to put down, will true grass become. A lot greener? Have I done anything wrong.....all I know I’m aching and I have a wheelie bin and 8 black bags full of moss 😀

any advice would be welcome, would a new machine be better for my size garden and I wasn’t impressed, as there still seems to be a hell of a lot of grass. The previous owners didn’t look after it all all.

Thanks

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 48,889
    Hi @alanhaworth1. Don't worry too much - it often looks hellish when you have a scarifying session!
    I'd leave it now for a while to let it recover and grow a little bit. It's still a bit early for sowing seed, and if you've used a weed and feed product, it's especially important to leave it for several weeks, as the 'weed' bit will inhibit grass seed from germinating. 
    It'll green up once you have a good spell of rain  :)