Forum home Problem solving

Yew tree help/topiary

Hi all,

Im a complete novice gardener (but full of enthusiasm!) and was hoping for some advice on two yew trees that I inherited in my garden. 

The previous owner kept the shapes neat but they’ve grown tall and misshapen and I absolutely hate them!!

Does anyone have any ideas what I can do with them e.g. train them into another shape, make them lollipops, cut them right down and start again, leave them to bush out, get rid completely etc? 

One is clearly doing better than the other, so ideally I’d like to make them match again if possible, but not sure how drastic I can be with this species 

any ideas/thoughts I would so grateful!! 

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 82,089
    I'd be a bit more radical ... I'd turn them into cones ... the branches in the middle will fill out in a couple of seasons.  
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

Gotta love an espalier ... a fence and a pear tree all in one 

“I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 48,907
    Hi @Pash321 - nothing that says you have to keep them if you really don't like them, but yew is very forgiving, so don't be frightened to give them a good haircut. Probably the easiest is to take all the lower growth and leave the tops, and then you can practice your hairdressing skills  ;)
    They look ok healthwise, but if you feel they need a little boost, you can give them a liquid seaweed feed or similar, or even just some slow release granular feed around the base and a watering, followed by a mulch. That's certainly worth doing if you decide to cut them back to a single trunk.