Forum home Fruit & veg

Have I gone overboard with string on my broad bean support?

I maybe got a little carried away with the string support :D  Will it matter?  I’m assuming the beans will grow up and through the string framework?

• lily6lily6 Posts: 68
     I love your very smart veg garden, those raised borders are a thing of beauty without anything visible growing in them yet. Does look very heavy on the string though, is it very windy where you are?! 
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 60,716
    edited 28 March
    Hi @Darren267  😊 

Did you play Cat’s Cradle as a child?  😉. 

Personally I think it’s
    a bit over the top ...Mine get no more support than a few canes either side of the row and a string around them if they’re lucky. That looks more like macrame 😉 

For me, less is more, but then I’m an artist ... perhaps you’re a weaver by trade or have an arachnid in your ancestry? 🕷 

Sorry ... think I’m going stir crazy ... but I think I’d give your beans a bit more space ... broad beans can be quite substantial plants with a lot of leafage and if  the leaves get all gnarled and bent and compressed the bees will struggle to find a way through to pollinate the flowers and you’ll get no beans 😢 
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• B3B3 Posts: 12,718
    They certainly won't be stringless beans😉
    In London. Keen but lazy.
  • Darren267Darren267 Posts: 6
    Hahaha. Thank you. I originally went minimal and they looked fab. Then I worries there wasn’t enough support and voila. I’ll cut some out I think.

• LynLyn DevonPosts: 15,760
    I use a cane at each end, maybe one middle with one piece of string round in a loop, as they grow, put  a tie wrap from plant to string. 
    Gardening on the wild, windy west side of Dartmoor. 

• Pete.8Pete.8 Billericay, EssexPosts: 5,482