Forum home Tools and techniques

Fertiliser/plant food for shrubs advice:

I was just wondering if anyone had some advice for food for a range of plants. I have no real experience using fertilisers, and in the past I've just spread compost around and let the worms get on with it which I know isn't quite the same.

However I've been wondering if some of our plants might need or at least benefit from a little boost, but since I know nothing about it and the internet is full of nothing but horror stories of 'oh I did this and it killed everything' or make everything seem overly complicated, so I thought it simplest to just ask instead rather than looking around and stressing because of too much information.

So essentially, what would people recommend to give a little nutrient boost, ideally to a range of plants (Pyracantha, Fuchsia, Roses, Lavender, all of which have bulbs planted around them), that won't harm the soil/organisms as for the most part we've never seen a need to do so (and so don't want to muck that up) but some of them have had a bit of a rough year lately so might benefit from a one off boost? 

The soil itself is clay, but relatively well draining (despite it tipping it down almost every week since Christmas we've only had small pools of standing water a couple of times, both in the 'grass' where there isn't so much to take up the excess).

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 48,981
    Flowering plants, or certainly ones which are heavy flowerers,  will benefit from a little help. Tomato food is ideal, and you can use that in a diluted form later in the year. Annuals are the types which benefit most from that though.

Most people like to use something like Blood, Fish and Bone sprinkled round the base of shrubs and plants at this time of year. It's a slow release food, and is beneficial to everything. You simply tickle that in round the plants, according to instructions, and you can then add your compost over that.