Forum home Problem solving

Composting

PurpleRosePurpleRose North YorkshirePosts: 538
Hi. Nearly newbie here. I came across the forum last weekend and I have enjoyed looking through posts. Sorry if this post is in the wrong category, I think it was the closest I could find to my topic.

I moved into my home approximately 2 1/2 years ago and this is my first garden.  It had been left untouched for a couple of years and was very overgrown and we discovered under the weeds lots and lots of gravel.  I have enjoyed transforming my garden and discovering what was underneath the weeds.

Since discovering gardening, it has amazed me how wonderful nature is and how it works, which has lead me to become more environmentally aware.  As a gift, I was bought a composting bin which I thought was fab and I started composting.

I have researched composting but found I was winging some of it. I put the usual in, tea leaves, veg peelings, brown card. What I want to know is, how often do I turn the heap? How long does it actually take to turn to compost? (I have watched you tube videos where they claim it  an take 4 weeks) and what do you put in your heaps? I have read articles online and watched videos, some of the information conflicts.

Many thanks 😁

• Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 33,305
    I stick pretty much everything in mine except couch grass roots, bindweed and ground elder. 
    Simple rule is "balance" of greens ( fresh weedy bits ) and browns ( small twiggy bits but also torn up cardboard, junk mail, newspapers ) 
    The reason to turn it is to mix drier bits with more moist bits and the cooler bits on the edge and the warmer bits in the middle. 
    Don't fret too much about it. Worst case scenario is that when you come to use it, some of it won't be rotted, so leave it to one side , use the good stuff and stick the uncomposted stuff back into the bins and start again.
    You'll soon get the hang of it. 
    Devon.
  • FireFire North LondonPosts: 17,116