Forum home The potting shed

Lupin seeds poll

EricsGardenEricsGarden Posts: 141
edited March 2020 in The potting shed
Last summer we harvested the seeds from a beautiful huge Lupin plant we got from a major supermarket. I've never planted Lupin seeds before and I'm quite new to gardening in general. Today we planted those seeds but due to so much differing advice about how to prepare the seeds we have done it 8 different ways. They're currently in our unheated greenhouse.

Which one do you think will be the most successful? Vote now.
I will post the results in a few weeks if any of them actually sprout.

PS: Two weeks ago I planted 3 seeds that were not prepared like these, they have not sprouted, yet.

Lupin seeds poll 1 vote

Chillded
0%
Chilled and soaked
100%
Valleysgirl 1 vote
Chilled and scraped
0%
Chilled, soaked and scraped
0%
Frozen
0%
Frozen and soaked
0%
Frozen and scraped
0%
Frozen, soaked and scraped
0%

• punkdocpunkdoc Sheffield, Derbyshire border.Posts: 11,364
    Sorry to be a party pooper, but you don't need to do any of that.
    Simply remove seeds from packet, sow, job done  :)
    He calls her the chocolate girl
    Cause he thinks she melts when he touches her
    She knows she's the chocolate girl
    Cause she's broken up and swallowed
    And wrapped in bits of silver
  • Pete.8Pete.8 Billericay, EssexPosts: 8,559
    I use the same method as punckdoc.
    Protecting the spring shoots from slugs and snails is the difficult bit :)
    Good luck - will be interesting to hear the outcome
    Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
    Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad.
  • AstroAstro Posts: 357
    Yes I've found they germinate easily, afterwards I've not been as successful. As pointed out slugs and snails love them. Also for me they seem vulnerable dying off before they get to any decent size even when they have a few true leaves.
  • ObelixxObelixx Vendée, Western FrancePosts: 27,628