Forum home Problem solving

Rose Pruning

I did some early pruning on my roses (climbing and bush) a few weeks ago.  Now shoots have appeared.  This seems very early to me, I assume it is the mild ish weather (Merseyside, North West).
Can I prune further, removing some of the shoots, or should I leave asis?
Note that i'm relatively new to gardening. 
Cheers,
Dave

• Pta55Pta55 Oxfordshire Posts: 28
    I am new to pruning roses too and have a different question. I appear to have acquired a Claire Austin Climbing Rose instead of a standard rose! Don’t ask! Can you prune a Climber to stay as a tallish shrub rose, otherwise it will have to go as I do not have room for another climber. Thank you. Peta
  • TopbirdTopbird Mid SuffolkPosts: 7,580
    edited February 2020
    Dave - If you've got the roses to the shape and size you want, I think I'd leave as is for now. If there's a sharp frost and the new buds are damaged you can always prune later. 

PTA - You can try to prune it as a large shrub rose but I suspect the new growth will always be a bit too long and whippy to be a successful shrub. However, the fact they grafted this rose to make a standard may mean it's less whippy than other climbers. 

I think though that a large shrub rose could easily occupy more room than a climbing rose trained round a post or an obelisk. If you're limited for space, had you thought of doing that?

Claire Austin is a lovely rose - seems a shame not to try to give her a space in your garden. You've bought her now - not much to lose is there?
    Heaven is ... sitting in the garden with a G&T and a cat while watching the sun go down
  • Thanks Topbird, I'll do as you say.
    Cheers, Dave
  • Pta55Pta55 Oxfordshire Posts: 28
    Thank you Topbird. Will see how it goes this summer
    Pta