Forum home Problem solving

Camellia's need help from me

Hi All,

I have planted 5 camellia sasanqua 2 years ago , Full Sun ( 35C summers / 20C Winters ) and i have had different growth rates between all 5 of them...

I have also noticed that the soil has dropped in each planter box which indicates that the soil when watered is running back in to the rocks behind..

My question is can i take the Camellia's out , fix the cavities in the wall ( ie - Expanda foam in to the wall joints ) and then replace the Camellia's ...

I am a green fingered novice so any criticism , help and advise will be received gratefully..:'( 

• PosyPosy Isle of Wight.Posts: 3,601
    Hello, welcome to the forum. I think your camellias are suffering from stress in several ways. I find that they can cope with full sun but they need deep, moist soil with cool roots. Your containers are relatively shallow and will heat up in the sunlight, dry out and possibly overheat the roots. So I think it might be a case of the wrong plant for the situation, I'm afraid. You could remove them and top up the soil but remember, they must be able to drain. 
  • ObelixxObelixx Vendée, Western FrancePosts: 28,554
    edited February 2020
    I agree.  They look starved, baked and thirsty.

Camellias are naturally large shrubs but very suited to container growth as long as the container is a) large enough, b) filled with good quality ericaceous compost c) watered regularly especially from July to November when they producing and growing their flower buds and d) regularly fed in the growing season because planting composts only have enough food to sustain plants for 90 days max.   After tha they are depending on good care from you.