Forum home Garden design

Complete Newbie..

Hi, we have just purchased our first home and it has a lovely south facing garden. I think it just needs a bit of colour - we both come from having no gardens at all to all this space and a bit daunting on who what when where but know we want to do something... Ive been looking at "garden boarders". and saw a post on here of someone who had done wooden edging, filled with soil and planted plants... thats literally my jargo sorry peeps! This is a whole new world for me. But thinking that idea could work. But then being green thumb novices dont want anything that would require a lot of work? We havent even owned a pet yet so a garden would be our first baby to nurture lol looking for any advise on garden keeping and if anyone wants to recommend anything to plant would be grateful :) if you had this garden.. what would you do ?! :D

• Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 29,062
    Hi, and a warm welcome to the Forum. 
    I think the problem with " if you had this garden.. what would you do ?! D" is the answers will be what other folk want/ would do with the space. 
    I'm guessing you'd not show photos of your new sitting room and ask folk which wallpaper they'd have .
    You need to decide what YOU want. There's no point in folk saying, for example, have a fruit /veg patch if you've neither time ,nor inclination to grow them. or set aside a play area if you don't have / plan to have kids. 
    I'd suggest you look at lots of gardens,in real lilfe, online, in books and magazines etc and  decide what YOU like and distill those idea into your garden. You have no need to rush into it. Take your time, even walk round your neighbourhood and see if any style /plants even, catch your eye
    Devon.
  • BobTheGardenerBobTheGardener Leicestershire, UKPosts: 11,065
    You have the proverbial 'blank canvas' there, so just about anything is possible! :)