Forum home Garden design

Vegetable plot ideas

Hi all,

We have some disused space at the back of our garden that I'd like to turn into a vegetable plot - at the moment it's just dead space where we have bonfires, keep rubbish and let the weeds grow wild. I've finally decided that this is the year I'm going to tackle it and turn it into a more useful/pleasant space.

The only thing is - I'm a complete novice when it comes to any form of gardening/vegetable planting so I really have no idea where to begin. I've got some photos of the space below so you can see what I'm working with - I don't have a lot of money for this project, so need ideas on a budget as well :smile:.

For background - the plot is at the very back of our garden and is right next to the fields - we do have problems with rabbits in our garden and digging holes, and there are rabbit holes around this area too. It gets a fair bit of sun during the day and is south facing - although the hedging/sheds offer a little bit of shade. Weeds are an absolute nightmare and nettles seem to take over, no matter how much weedkiller we put down.

So I guess my questions are:
  1. How can I effectively clear the area of weeds, so they won't take over the vegetable garden?
  2. Is there a way I can keep rabbits out?
  3. Would raised beds be/look better or should I just map out my growing area on the ground?
  4. What do I tackle first - weeds, rabbits, or rubbish? Or all at once??
As you can probably tell, I have no idea where or how to begin, so just looking for some friendly advice/ideas to get going!

Cheers!

• steephillsteephill Posts: 1,865
    Rubbish, weeds then rabbits in that order.

Weeds will need hard labour to clear properly, roots need removing as well as top growth. Nettle roots are like yellow spaghetti and shouldn't be too deep. Other weeds may have roots which go all the way to Australia and might need chemical warfare.