Forum home Problem solving

Complete novice ruining new lawn

2»

• mr197mr197 Posts: 11
    Hostafan1 said:
    I know we've had a lot of rain, but it looks waterlogged. Might just be a trick of the photos though.
    Thank you.  It may well be; so squishy underfoot.
    Hostafan1 said:
    If it was my garden, I'd lose the "lawn" altogether and have more planting and a central paved, woodchipped, gravel area in the middle
    Thank you.  That's kind-of how the previous owners had it - with ponds and a lot of stone.  We didn't have a conversation about why.  We've got a little one so couldn't leave like that, and it's his first garden, hence my concern.
  • Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 33,337
    IMHO "lawns" are often more bother than they're worth in small gardens.
    Devon.
  • FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 49,208
    I think you had your answer when you said the previous owners didn't have a lawn!
    It does appear to be heavily shaded which makes it trickier. If you're desperate for a lawn of some kind, you may have to raise the area.
    That still creates a problem if it's shady, as it'll never be a brilliant surface, but even moss is fine for kids to play on.  ;)
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• As a few have said, I reckon leaving it until spring will be best. It's amazing how well grass can recver from damage. 

It may be best to get someone in to dig/lay a sump with a couple of drainage channels in the spring/summer.

Were the ponds definitely removed, liners removed/totally shredded? 

We moved home with a 2 year old and one on the way. The first thing I did was dig them a good big pond to stare at and watch the bugs.
    Fairygirl said:
    I think you had your answer when you said the previous owners didn't have a lawn!
    It does appear to be heavily shaded which makes it trickier. If you're desperate for a lawn of some kind, you may have to raise the area.