Complete novice ruining new lawn

Hello,

I’d really appreciate some thoughts on how I might avoid destroying my new lawn.

I’m completely new to gardening and have moved to a new house for growing family. About six weeks ago we had a lawn laid. It has been raining. A lot. Nobody walked on the lawn for two weeks and we have rarely after that. The grass is very long now and the garden is very wet.

We have had a lot of trees deposit leaves in one spot.

I have tried to clear some leaves (with a brush). Where the leaves were sitting, it’s basically just dirt now. Where I’ve stepped, the grass has died.

There are still a lot of leaves on the lawn but I don’t know what to do. Do I just pray for less rain and do nothing. Should I mow it (wet) or will walking on it do more damage? Should it feed it, and if so, what?

It’s not a big garden, does get some sun (not at the moment).

I have no clue; I’d love my son to have a garden to play in when it warms up.

Any advice appreciated.

Thank you.

• Did whoever laid your new lawn give you any advice on maintenance/upkeep ?

There is a lawn expert who posts on the forum - @glasgowdan - either look for his posts or hopefully he will see your query :)  
  • mr197mr197 Posts: 11
    Thank you.

Only advice was don’t walk on it for a few weeks, and make sure it was well watered. The recent rain more than took care of that!

I will check out @glasgowdan’s posts/replies. Thanks again.
  • I'd try and get the leaves off with a rake. It's hard to know exactly what the issues are without knowing what prep was done and so on. 

Is it so long it's lying flopped over?
    I'd try and get the leaves off with a rake. It's hard to know exactly what the issues are without knowing what prep was done and so on. 

Is it so long it's lying flopped over?