Tasmanian Tree Fern covered in what looks like a Lichen?

Hi, this is my tree fern which I’ve had for about 10 years now. Over the past 18 months it’s trunk on one side has grown this amazing Lichen (well that’s what it looks like to me, I’m no expert) - just wondered if it is likely to harm it, and if so what I can do about it. The strange thing is it only seems to form on the old trunk, not the growth since I’ve had it. The plant stays out all year in a sheltered yard on the South Coast of Devon with just a ball of fleece in its crown to protect it from frost. The fern grows two complete sets of leaves each year, once at the start of summer and one at the end. Any advice would be appreciated, thanks in advance.

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 56,347
    edited 6 November
    I wonder if @Hostafan1 has an idea about this? 
    He lives in damp Devon
    and knows about tree ferns etc 

Think he’s out this afternoon but I’m
    sure that when he gets back he’ll see this thread 😊 

“I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 22,007
    I'm afraid I know nothing about them apart from the fact that I'd love some. 
    IMHO the lichen is doing no harm whatsoever and is a sign that it's getting enough moisture. I rather like it.
    Devon.
    Forgive our manners @pauljbarham,
    Welcome to the Forum.
    Devon.
    My apologies ... I had a feeling you’d grown them in the past .., must’ve been dreaming. 🙄 
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• Oh yes it’s damp in Devon alright! :D It’s rained on most days for the past 5 weeks!! Thanks for the response.  :)
  • Difficult to zoom in on your pic but looks like lichen ( bit of a mouthful there ).