Forum home The potting shed

Spiders

• BrexiteerBrexiteer Birmingham Posts: 955
    Thank you for letting me know @Fairygirl I never realised that any wild animals would actually prefer staying inside rather than hanging out in the garden. 
    What can they possibly eat inside? I remove spider webs regularly (though not as often as I should), and I never see any prey in them. How do those poor things survive?
     I still wouldn’t want those big black ones inside our house - would they survive in the shed?
    Take no notice of her mate. Them spiders are in the garden in the summer then come indoors for winter for shelter and looking for mate. As long as they have shelter a shed or entry will be fine 
  • debs64debs64 West Midlands, on the edge of the Black Country Posts: 2,730
    @BirminghamMarc1972 I think @Fairygirl knows a bit more about care of spiders than someone who “sprays them and sucks them up the vac”
    I am no expert but I think many creatures which live outside happily in the summer would not survive a winter without shelter. I am happy to provide that shelter as without them we would be over run with flies, which I loathe! 
  • FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 34,120
    They eat flies etc @Big Blue Sky and the males are basically looking for a young lady  ;)
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• wild edgeswild edges The north west of south east WalesPosts: 5,415
    The 'daddy longlegs' spiders you find in the house are cellar spiders which like warm and dry conditions so don't do so well in the garden. They'll do ok in sheds and outbuildings though. They eat pretty much anything including other spiders and their own kind. Useful beasts to have around if you have a fungus gnat problem too.