Forum home Problem solving

What’s eating my rhubarb leaves? :-(

This is my first year growing rhubarb. Up until August I had 2 beautiful healthy vigorous plants... 

Since then all the leaves are getting completely decimated with holes, and turning yellow. I’ve been pulling them out and putting them in the bin. 

Does anyone recognise this issue and know what to do? I’m grateful for any help! :-)

Here’s a few pictures of the sad plants:  

No other plants nearby seem to be affected, except the weed directly behind has similar holes: 

I gave the leaves a good shake to see whether any little creatures fell off but nothing....

I did find a few of these unsightly black splodges but not sure if they are relevant. 

Please help! :-)

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 82,143
    It’s probably snails .   
    Let the leaves die back on the plant do the energy goes back to the crown for next year. 
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 48,972
    I'd agree with @Dovefromabove - most likely slug/snail damage. 
    Unfortunately, they're very good at hiding too. It's often the really tiny ones that do the most damage as well.  All you can do is pick them off when you find them - depending on how much time and inclination you have  ;)
    It's unsightly, but not detrimental to the plant  :)
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• BobTheGardenerBobTheGardener Leicestershire, UKPosts: 11,391