Forum home Tools and techniques

How to improve soil in pots?

SkylarksSkylarks East MidlandsPosts: 379
Hi, newbie here  :)

I started growing veg in pots & raised planter a couple of years ago (my soil in the garden is too clay like). I've just been out today, taken off the top 3rd of the soil & used veggie mesh to cover them to stop weeds.

How can I improve the nutrients in the soil for next year & when would I do this?

Or, does it depend on what veg I grow? I've heard carrots don't like a soil that's too rich.

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 39,651
    Hi @Skylarks. Normally you'd just add some rotted manure, or good compost, to refresh beds, but what many people do is to add fresh manure around this time of year which will then rot down over winter, in time for next spring. 
    It would certainly depend what you want to grow though, and whether you have anything growing just now, or want to grow in the near future. Otherwise, you could just add good compost nearer planting/sowing time.

Carrots don't like recently manured soil, so you'd be fine to put something down on the beds just now, as it would be ok in time for sowing those next year  :)
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• SkylarksSkylarks East MidlandsPosts: 379
    Thanks Fairygirl. I'll get some fresh manure to add now  :)
  • ObelixxObelixx Vendée, Western FrancePosts: 26,272
    What you do to soil in a bed is not the same as you'd do in pots.   Assuming the pots are now empty for winter I would just leave them be or maybe cover with cardboard, held down with a stone to keep down weeds.

You could add manure to the raised bed and cover that with cardboard which will stop weeds and provide a lovely environment for worms and other soil organisms to work and play over winter.   Come the spring it should be perfect for sowing and planting but not carrots which tend to fork if the soil is too rich.