Buddleia Tower

Hi, I am a complete gardening novice so please forgive me.
I have recently had my front garden landscaped and in the process had to remove a beautiful escallonia bush which my kids loving called bee bush. I have replaced it in the new garden but my kids are now interested in attracting more pollinators. So I purchased 2 buddleia towers online, they have just been delivered and they are very small so I am wondering what I should do with them over winter? There was been some frost here already and I don’t want them to die. Ideally they are for very large tubs (steel 90l bins) at either side of my front porch. What should I do?

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 26,002
    I don't know what a buddleia tower is. Have you got a photo?

Buddleias are totally hardy, so they won't be affected by any weather you get.  :)
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• lisab279lisab279 Posts: 8

There is what they should look like and here is actual about the size of my hand so will look fairly ridiculous in a steel bin.
  • BirminghamMarc1972BirminghamMarc1972 Birmingham Posts: 780
    Just leave them outside in a sheltered place just remember to water them occasionally as there is not a lot of compost 
  • JennyJJennyJ DoncasterPosts: 1,486
    They'll be fine in a sheltered spot outside. There looks to be quite a lot of new young growth on them, so they've probably been in a glasshouse so don't put them straight into a cold exposed spot. Probably best left in their current pots until spring though. Sitting in a large container of wet compost over winter when they're not growing wouldn't be good for them.
  • BirminghamMarc1972BirminghamMarc1972 Birmingham Posts: 780
    I bought 6 buddleia of different varieties and colour. 3 went in the ground and have lovely green leaves and look great the other 3 went in pots and the leaves went yellow and didn't do as good. Just a thought mate