Forum home Problem solving

What is wrong with my azalea?

Hello!
I am a newbie at gardening!
In March I bought a beautiful white Azalea! I planted it with the correct compost (acidic) and everything was fine until a month ago, when the leaves started getting red/brown on the edges...
Even new leaves now look similar!
I think it is a problem with the soil, but could you advise on what to do?
I have watered them with tap water, which unfortunately is hard. I've read that this is not great for it!
I also gave it some azalea food in pellets, but it did not seem to help!

I don't want to lose it!!

• BrexiteerBrexiteer Birmingham Posts: 955
    You sure it aint turning red for autumn 
  • FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 49,112
    Hi @nicole.m89- has it got adequate drainage? Although they like plenty of water, they don't like sitting in it for a long period, so they need drainage, and that kind of damage can be from over or underwatering - they look similar unfortunately. They also need air round the roots, so it could just have been sitting in soil that's a bit clogged. 
    It can also be from sitting in sun/wind, which is very drying for the foliage. They benefit form a semi shaded, to almost full shade site.
    Don't feed it just now, as that won't help  :)
    Is the pot raised of the ground too,and is it quite a buig shrub? It's harder to keep them successfully in pots, unless they have really good conditions. The pot may not be big enough.
    Don't worry too much about the water, although it will help if you can use rainwater if you're not in a soft water area of the country.  :)
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• @Fairygirl thanks for your very detailed answer!
    The pot should be big enough (we got it suggested at the garden centre) I would probably blame overwatering!