Forum home Plants

Is anyone a fern expert?

wild edgeswild edges The north west of south east WalesPosts: 6,164
Due to a leaking greenhouse gutter that was hidden by a climbing plant, the one corner of my greenhouse floor has been really damp for a few months and I only found out when I was clearing things out in there ready for the winter. The bonus is though that the floor is covered with tiny ferns (fernlings? fernlets?). The floor is just hardcore that was wacked solid 10 years ago ready for slabs to be laid when I eventually get around to it... Anyway I'd like to transplant all the ferns and use them in an experimental vertical garden next year. What do I transplant them into and any tips for giving them a good start over the winter? One of them is quite big now so getting it out of the ground will be tricky. They can stay in the greenhouse under the bench in the shade though.

• LoxleyLoxley Posts: 3,663
    I'm not a fern expert but I have transplanted young ferns like that; just winkle them out with a kitchen knife and transfer them (along with a good bit of the gravel they're rooted in) to small pots with normal MPC. And keep moist.
  • Papi JoPapi Jo Brittany, France Posts: 3,035
    @wild edges, if you manage to get those ferns out and re-pot them, and start a fern wall, you might be interested to join the "competition" I started here: https://forum.gardenersworld.com/discussion/1031723/fern-wall
    You are invited to a virtual visit of my garden (in English or in French).
  • wild edgeswild edges The north west of south east WalesPosts: 6,164
    Thanks @Papi Jo I must have missed your post originally. That's exactly the kind of thing I'm looking for. I'm hoping to mix in some cuttings from my variagated ivy as well and maybe add some seasonal planting pockets for shade loving plants that won't survive the winter here. I'll bookmark your thread and if all goes well I'll post updates as I go along.
    WillDB said: