New Hedge Questions

Am finally about to replace my massive Leylandii hedge with a different species.  

I'm a novice gardener and am unsure about a few things...

Should I opt for stump grinding?
Am assuming need to get the stumps out if I plan to plant another hedge?  The trunks are thick 50 cm wide in places there are 15 or so trees over the 25-meter hedge.  I imagine removal by hand is going to be nearly impossible, should I get them ground out, or could I plant around the stumps removing roots with a reciprocating saw? 

Which new species should I look at?
We would like a 2 to 3 meter hedge providing privacy all year round.  We have a dog, so the plants should be pet-friendly.  Ideally, we would like it to grow quickly to regain our privacy.  As it runs alongside a path would like to keep cut back to the boundary line.  

• Others will have better ideas for your specific requirements.  I have just planted a hedge in my front garden - totally different requirements from your plans, but I found the company Hedges Direct Ltd very helpful, and their website is a mine of useful information.
    My queries and slight problem with the delivery were instantly sorted, and I have no complaints about them - subject, of course, to the planting performing as well as I hope!  (And they have a comprehensive guarantee, anyway).
    Hope this helps.
  • Thanks Shrinking Violet I will take a look.
  • treehugger80treehugger80 Posts: 1,856
    i've found western hemlock a good hedging plant, fairly quick growing and easy to maintain, and evergreen.
    not only will you have to remove the stumps, you'll have to improve the soil as the leylandii will have sucked every gram of nutrients and goodness from the soil to grow the that size.
  • FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 25,285