Forum home Problem solving

Mowing new lawn

Hi, we had new turf laid 3 weeks ago onto heavy clay soil. It's getting long, it's looking healthy, but when I give it a tug to see how well it is rooting some areas feel firm, others do not. Obviously I don't want to stress it, but also I don't want it to get too long. Do I mow or leave it? 

• JennyJJennyJ DoncasterPosts: 7,642
    I'm no expert but I think I would mow it on the highest setting, making sure the blades are very sharp so they cut cleanly with minimal pulling.
  • Joy*Joy* Posts: 571
    If it isn't firmly rooted,  keep off it. Walking on it too soon, will hinder progress and will likely leave footprints in it. It may take 6 weeks for it to attach itself firmly. When you do mow, JennyJ is right. Be patient!
  • FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 48,889
    What do you mean by long? Unless it's grown extremely quickly in 3 weeks, it can't be more than about five or six inches, unless you're in a very wet area. That isn't a problem to leave at that height, and as JennyJ says, once you cut it, you would cut on the highest setting so that you only take a little off, and then gradually lower it after that. 

I'd be more concerned that it's not rooting/attaching well in some places. Do those parts look green and healthy?
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

Perhaps a photograph would help. 
  • elu439elu439 Posts: 17
    edited August 2019
    Fairygirl said:
    What do you mean by long? Unless it's grown extremely quickly in 3 weeks, it can't be more than about five or six inches, unless you're in a very wet area. That isn't a problem to leave at that height, and as JennyJ says, once you cut it, you would cut on the highest setting so that you only take a little off, and then gradually lower it after that. 

I'd be more concerned that it's not rooting/attaching well in some places. Do those parts look green and healthy?