Forum home Plants

Weeds or plants

i am clearing a bed under two oak trees to the front of our new house. I am new to gardening! Mostly I can tell what are weeds, but as some have clearly been allowed to ‘establish’ they can look more ‘plant like’. I have attached a selection of photos of the bed in question. I have started clearing it from the right. 

There are several with larger dark leaves which I initially though might be hostas, but when googling I can’t find any with spotted leaves. Then there is one with large glossy dark leaves which I don’t know if it’s a weed. Then there are some in amongst what I know to be weeds with much smaller leaves that are two toned. 

Can anyone help help so I don’t take out too much which should be left please?

Also, between the two oaks, a cobnut tree seems to have self seeded (there is a full size one about 4 metres away in the next bed). It is about 3 foot tall or so and quite large Andy bushy. I assume I’m better off getting rid of it as it’s ‘fighting’ with the oak trees?

Thanks so much for helping a newbie!
Pia

• Silver surferSilver surfer Posts: 2,661
    1. Lamium maculatum...can get invasive.
    Several other weeds in amongst it.

2. Pulmonaria...common name Lungwort

https://www.google.com/search?q=pulmonaria&client=firefox-b-d&channel=crow&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiZ0seolt_jAhWMZMAKHbh2BGIQ_AUIESgB&biw=1920&bih=944
    Perthshire. SCOTLAND .
  • wild edgeswild edges The north west of south east WalesPosts: 5,531
    Up to you on the hazel tree. They transplant pretty well as long as you do it while they're dormant in the winter. It will grow where it is and you can keep coppicing it for bean poles if you wanted though.
    Sorry phone went before 1st answer completed....Had another look.
    4.   Looks as if there is a Helleborus ...behind the Pulmonaria.