Do Geums Re-flower better with age?

NollieNollie Girona, Catalunya, Northen SpainPosts: 2,574
First time growing them this year. Planted in good, rich soil, kept moist, in sun in the afternoon but leaves shades by other plants - so I think I have done everything right...

Lady Statheden flowered ok and Fire Storm a bit less. I deadheaded individual flowers at first then cut the stems back to the ground in June when they seemed to have finished. Lady S has thrown out a few new flowering stems but not a peep from Fire Storm. 

Is this normal for new geums? I’m wondering if they flower better in subsequent years or whether it’s just that don’t like my heat much...

How have your geums done in the heatwave? 

• AstroAstro Posts: 101
    It is my first year of growing geums(Lady S) and they were and have been pretty unremarkable to be honest. In the North of England we haven't had that much hot weather, so it isn't excessive heat or shortage of water in my case. 
  • NollieNollie Girona, Catalunya, Northen SpainPosts: 2,574
    @Astro, that’s interesting, maybe they are a bit fussy and do take a while to get going?

There is a saying that perennials sleep in the first year, creep in the second and leap in the third. All my other newly planted perennials still give me a really decent showing of flowers in the first year tho...
  • Lizzie27Lizzie27 Bath, SomersetPosts: 3,727
    I've gone off geums. They are sulking here, some are 1st year, some are last year's. All are the orange ones, perhaps they don't like my clay alkaline soil?
  • FireFire LondonPosts: 5,480
    I have tried them for the last few years and have been very disappointed. Others here have said here that they are best off straggling through other plants, so I’ve moved mine but don’t think I will bother much with them. 
  • hogweedhogweed Central ScotlandPosts: 3,949