Forum home Problem solving

Can this be salvaged?

Good afternoon,

I am new to gardening. The issue is I haven't got any experience prior to moving into my current property. I have put a pic up of an evergreen that was really overgrown. I tried to shape it, but the branches were thick so I used a pruner chainsaw. As you can see in the pics, a lot of the tree is bare wood and looks unsightly, and leaves aren't growing. It has been over 3 months since I cut it. 

My question do you thibk I can prune this in a way where it looks decent to the eye, and wil the leaves come back? If there is a special feed for it I will be happy to purchase it, I just need to know what to do really.

Thank you very much in advance.

• nutcutletnutcutlet PeterboroughPosts: 26,870
    no, that will never be any good. Conifers don't recover from that. 
    they often get planted where there isn't room then get hacked like that so you can get in the gate :(
  • FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 49,148
    It's knackered now, sorry. Conifers don't grow back once you cut into the old wood. Better removed and replaced with something else now.

Only other alternative is to clear it right back to the trunk and 'lollipop' it, but they usually look hideous if you do that.
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• JennyJJennyJ DoncasterPosts: 7,707
    Most conifers don't grow new leaves if you cut back to brown wood. The best thing to do with that would be to take it out, improve the soil and plant something that won't outgrow the space.
    If you really want to keep it, you could try cutting back all the lower branches (all the way round) back to the main trunk so you would have a bare length of trunk.  Not ideal by any means, but better than how it looks now.
  • m_ali1986m_ali1986 Posts: 56