Forum home The potting shed

Fungicide worries ...

• debs64debs64 West Midlands, on the edge of the Black Country Posts: 3,713
    It is absolutely ridiculous to constantly prescribe antibiotics especially to children who almost never complete the course as they taste vile so as soon as child is a little better the medicine is thrown away. A healthy person can usually fight off many common infections themselves. If an infection persists for 2-3 weeks that is the time to consider medication in my opinion. I am no medical expert but I believe a healthy immune system is built by fighting viruses and infections without resorting to drugs. 
  • josusa47josusa47 Posts: 3,532
    edited July 2019
    debs64 said:
    It is absolutely ridiculous to constantly prescribe antibiotics especially to children who almost never complete the course as they taste vile so as soon as child is a little better the medicine is thrown away. A healthy person can usually fight off many common infections themselves. If an infection persists for 2-3 weeks that is the time to consider medication in my opinion. I am no medical expert but I believe a healthy immune system is built by fighting viruses and infections without resorting to drugs. 
    Broadly speaking I think you're right.  BUT the key word in your post is healthy.  There are a lot fewer healthy people around than there used to be, because modern medicine enables sick people to survive.  In the developed world, we have all but abolished natural selection.  To give two examples: 

The prevalence of Type 1 diabetes mellitus has increased enormously since the development of insulin therapy.  Before that, it was self-limiting, as most people with T1DM didn't live long enough to reproduce.  With insulin therapy, most diabetics are as likely as anyone else to have children, and they will have an increased risk of T1DM compared to the children of non-diabetic parents.