Forum home Problem solving

Weird spots on Calathea

Hi all,

I wonder if you would be able to help please. By now, after killing and rescuing more than three calatheas, I thought I was doing well when today whilst whipping the leaves i discovered strange spots on my plant. Would you be able to help please? I attach image for your reference and really hope you would be able to help. About the maintenance, it receives fortnightly "showers" and every 10 days a "bath" of 20 minutes. It sits atop of pebble plate to create humidity. I feed it with half strength 20-20-20 fertiliser and only use rain water.

I had the plant in very good condition for almost a year now but all of  sudden the leaves started turning crispy and spotty.

Your help would be most appreciated.

With many thanks in advance

Anvar

• anvar.p25anvar.p25 Posts: 3
    Missing pics
  • wild edgeswild edges The north west of south east WalesPosts: 8,858
    I'm no expert but my guess would be over fertilising. A 10.10.5 at half strength once a month in the growing season would be the maximum I'd give it. You might be getting a build up of salts in the soil which is why it could be suddenly happening. They're tough plants to keep happy though and I've seen them growing in tropical houses and still not doing well.
    Tradition is just peer pressure from dead people
  • anvar.p25anvar.p25 Posts: 3
    I'm no expert but my guess would be over fertilising. A 10.10.5 at half strength once a month in the growing season would be the maximum I'd give it. You might be getting a build up of salts in the soil which is why it could be suddenly happening. They're tough plants to keep happy though and I've seen them growing in tropical houses and still not doing well.