Forum home Problem solving

POND help

Hi everyone, garden newbie here!

So I moved into a property fairly recently and have a small, shallow, artificial pond at the end of the garden. It's currently full of algae and leaf litter as aswell as what I think is midge larvae. I assumed because I sieved out thet layer of algae and saw nothing swimming about and because I thought it was too deoxygenated of an environment no amphibians could be living in it BUT I've just seen a frog come out of it(which I am thrilled about!) but I was going to drain the pond and put some oxygenating plants in it and something to kill of the midge larvae but now I know there is at least one frog about in there I don't know what to do, I don't want to kill any amphibians by trying to get rid of the midge larvae and obviously don't want to drain it and make it an uninhabitable environment for it. All I've done so far is sieve out the algae to try and see to the bottom. Guide me please! (I've attached photos of the pond and the frog below)
!

• pansyfacepansyface PEAK DISTRICT DerbyshirePosts: 21,176
    Well, the frog obviously likes the pond as it is, otherwise it wouldn’t have gone in there.

If you clean the pond up, it will be more to your liking.

You can choose, whose going to enjoy it more, the frog or you?
    Apophthegm -  a big word for a small thought.
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 82,089
    I would get some oxygenating plants in there, the native hornwort is a good one to start with ... and a few pond snails, they’ll start to eat the algae and then a few more creatures will find  the pond an attractive home and start to eat the midge larvae. 

https://www.puddleplants.co.uk/
    are a good source of plants and are very helpful

i found a supplier of native pond snails online too but I’m sorry I can’t remember who they were 
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

edited July 2019