Planting New Hedges - HELP!

DuggyfreshDuggyfresh MidlandsPosts: 11
Hi - New to forum and a complete novice in terms of green fingers . . .please be gentle!

After 10yrs of neglect I have just cleared my 125x32ft back garden (which was a jungle) and basically now have a blank canvas. Its about to be dug up, levelled and re-turfed throughout, however it is only part fenced and I will be left with 2x clear parallel runs of 25metres on both sides at the rear, the back adjoining demise is a high brick wall. 

Rather the ridiculous and ugly expense of running timber fencing (even along one side) I am planning to run 1.4metre high plastic wire coated fencing (with timber stakes) on both sides to secure the garden and then grow suitable hedges along the fence line, the idea being that they grow and create a nice screen between ourselves and our neighbours. 

The garden is north facing but now there are no trees / overhanging adjacent canopies etc gets a decent combination of sun/shade throughout the day. I have a budget (which is nearly exhausted on ground works) so cannot afford 50metres of mature bush plants (60cms plus) but want to ensure I have a fast growing, dense(ish) screen that will be easy to maintain and hopefully grow to circa 5ft. 

On the basis of the above being ok (I plan to leave a 1.5-2ft soil border between fence line and new turf edge for the bush planting I was looking at planting 3-4 30cms plants every metre. This is going to happen over the next 2weeks! Shorlisted variants are - 

Photinia Red Robin
Griselia New Zealand

1 - Are these the right kind of plant? I really like to the look of Photinia but does it grow easily/quickly will it create a good bush? If not planted correctly will I end up with a mess? Will it grow speedily so as to keep the neighbours moaning at bay?