Forum home Problem solving

Holiday watering

Hello,
i am a novice gardener and have started attempting to grow Dahlias from tubers that I overwintered.
So far most are doing pretty well in pots. I have lots of healthy stems and leaves.
i am going away for 3 weeks, my brother can come and water once every 7-10 days but I am concerned that I will lose my plants.
i am thinking of sitting the pots in trays with about an inch of water due to the warm weather.
Is this a good idea or a complete no, no?
Thanks in advance.
Lisa

• B3B3 South East LondonPosts: 24,080
    edited July 2019
    Can you put the pots in a shady place while you're away? I think you can set up a bucket of water with wicks into plants. Perhaps you could Google to see how it's done. Ive never tried it.
    https://m.wikihow.com/Use-Wicks-to-Water-Plants
    Here's one I picked at random.
    In London. Keen but lazy.
  • Singing GardenerSinging Gardener EssexPosts: 1,214
    I use capillary matting on a shelf with a reservoir of water below into which the end of the mat dips. You can buy systems to do this but it's much cheaper just to buy the capillary matting and use your own gravel trays.
  • Thanks B3 and Singing Gardener, does this mean that sitting pots in an inch of water is a bad move? 
  • Singing GardenerSinging Gardener EssexPosts: 1,214
    I think sitting them in water would probably make them too wet but I'm not an expert in dahlias!
  • B3B3 South East LondonPosts: 24,080
    That was my concern too but I'm no expert either😊
    In London. Keen but lazy.
  • Thanks very much.
  • NollieNollie Girona, Catalunya, Northen Spain.Posts: 6,551