Forum home Problem solving

Surgical repair of Hosta

Birdy13Birdy13 Posts: 595
edited June 2019 in Problem solving
Don't you hate it when you find a perfectly healthy flower has been broken? My hostas are doing fabulously well this year so when I noticed a badly bent flower stem which was still attached I wondered if it would be possible,to splint it. 
I took a plastic straw, split it along its entire length and carefully eased the stem in - a bit like a plumber wrapping a water pipe with split foam insulation. 
The operation was a bit fiddly but very successful. The stem is now straight again and there's every expectation the the patient will do well. Unfortunately, I seem unable to get my photo to upload on to this post.

• RubytooRubytoo On the sofa, Southerly aspect.Posts: 1,287
    Try making the picture a bit smaller? Sorry i am not technically inclined.
    Don;t know if this sticky topic will help.
    https://forum.gardenersworld.com/discussion/1010384/how-to-upload-a-picture-or-embed-other-media#latest

It is annoying I agree when you get a nice stem and it breaks, sometimes although it is easier to just cut it off we persist in trying to fix it, to enjoy the flowers although it might look a bit dodgy.
    I guess it is the gardening spirit we want things to succeed.
    Some might say why bother,  but I say good for you :)
  • Birdy13Birdy13 Posts: 595
    Oh look, I've managed it. I tried taking a different shape picture.

• LynLyn DevonPosts: 19,935
    Pretty Hosta, some people cut the flower stalks off right from the start, so just the green plant.  
    When @hostafan and I went to RHS Rosemoor someone had dead headed them but just the flowers, leaving the stalks sticking up, looked awful!.
    Gardening on the wild, windy west side of Dartmoor. 

• punkdocpunkdoc Sheffield, Derbyshire border.Posts: 11,344
    Putting more lead in @Hostafan1 pencil  :)
    He calls her the chocolate girl
    Cause he thinks she melts when he touches her