Forum home Garden design

Advice for new gardener

Hi all,

This summer I’m planning to start gardening. I’ve never gardened before so am in need of some tips.

I’m planning to start with a strip running down the lawn (about 2.5m by 15m). At the moment it’s very overgrown with weeds and nettles etc as it hasn’t been touched in a long time.

I’d like to get rid of all the weeds and instead brighten up the area with flowers and other plants. There are many rabbits around the garden and getting rid of them isn’t an option. 

I would greatly appreciate any advice about:

-getting rid of all the weeds 

-planting new plants and flowers

-which flowers/plants I should choose          -any methods for dealing with rabbits

Also I would really appreciate any recommendations of resources for beginner gardeners. :)

• louiseburkettlouiseburkett CheltenhamPosts: 10
    Hello, I am a beginner too, but after taking on a really overgrown allotment I can recommend spending money on a really good pair of gloves. I wear 'no cry' gloves and they have saved my hands. I have also recently bought a no-chord strimmer which has helped me to keep recurring weeds down. I have also been told to pull up, then dig up and then rotavate if you want to cultivate into bare soil. Little and often is also good advice and don't put too much pressure on yourself.
    With regard to rabbits, in my experience they will eat most things, but in my mum and dad's garden they have left rosemary alone. You can also buy plant or fruit cages from Wilko (or maybe somewhere else). They have also left broad beans alone (probably too late for seeds but I saw some good plants in a garden centre for sale quite cheap the other day). When raspberry canes are really well established rabbits will only nibble the lower leaves (they do love them), so you might need a cage over the cane in the first place.
    Your garden looks like it has huge potential and is going to be beautiful. Good luck! :smile: