Forum home Fruit & veg

General feed

Hi all,

I'm a novice veg grower and built the family a couple of raised beds to grow some veg. We've planted 1 bed with onions, leeks, garlic and spring onions the other with lettuce, carrots, beetroot and carrots so far. I'm wondering if there's a general feed I can use for all the veggies? I've had a 'Google' but the 'advice' was abit contradictory and suggested a different feed for different veg. Is this the case or is there a general feed that benefits all veg?

Thanks for your help!

• mrtjformanmrtjforman Posts: 331
    generally a tomato feed is suited for all plants.

Plants need a combination of macro and mineral nutrients and the main difference in feeds is the ratio so don't go for anything exotic, stick to tomato feed which should be formulated in equal ratios. The main nutrients are N-P-K and should be in similar ratios like 3-3-3 or 7-7-7. Avoid stuff like 0-30 and you'll be good.

Also start off using half the manufacturers recommended dosage. They like you to use more than you need to and plants can be overfed easily.
  • josusa47josusa47 Posts: 3,532
    You can make your own feeds from nettles, which are rich in nitrogen and promote leafy growth, and comfrey, which is rich in potassium and promotes flowering and fruiting.  Just gather the nettle or comfrey and soak them in water for a week or two.  Preferably with a lid on because they pong.  I believe phosphorus is the important element for root growth, but I've never heard of a plant that you can use to make a phosphorus-rich feed.

You can also buy seaweed extract which is very concentrated and add a thimbleful to a watering can.