Slug problems

I’m a total novice and just got an allotment. I’m having problems with slugs eating the courgettes. What is the best  way to deal with them?

• barry islandbarry island Posts: 707
    I'm sorry to say that I'm a slug pellet user, there are other ways apparently, encourage frogs and toads and birds into the garden and they eat the slugs, the trouble is the slugs eat the lettuce before the frog eats the slug.
  • Guernsey Donkey2Guernsey Donkey2 Posts: 5,722
    If you lift the leaves and those of nearby plants you may find the slugs lurking in the shade of the underneath leaves.  You could drop them into a container of water, squish or stamp on them.  I don't use slugs pellets as I like to encourage wildlife into my garden and you can't do both.  If you look for the slugs after some rain you should find more of the slimy creatures, or go to your allotment one night as that is when they are more active with a torch.
  • josusa47josusa47 Posts: 2,068
    I recommend every gardener to buy, beg or borrow "The Little Book of Slugs" £3 from the Centre for Alternative Technology.  It's fun to read and explains numerous wildlife-friendly ways to destroy or deter slugs.  It's best to use a belt-and-braces approach rather than rely on a single method.  Or just stick to growing plants that slugs don't eat.  
  • RubytooRubytoo On the sofa, Southerly aspect.Posts: 1,085
    Fry them in butter with lots of fresh ground pepper mmmmm......

Oh you mean the slugs?
    Have you heard of nematodes?
    A treatment you can buy to water on.  I am not sure if there are other brands but.
    https://www.nematodesdirect.co.uk/

See what other allotmenteers are using.

Old metaldehyde based pellets are being phased out, there are more wild life friendly versions available.

Organically-approved pellets, based on ferric phosphate are supposed to be wild life friendly.