Garden vac and mowers

hello all. I’m new to gardening but have had a couple of garden vacs previously. They start off great but then stop working fairly quickly. What garden vacs would the community recommend?  Also, I’m very keen on the idea of robotic lawn mowers. What such mowers would anyone recommend?

• ColinAColinA Posts: 234
    I have had a Flymo garden vac for a few years now and it still works perfectly albeit it is only used a couple of times a year.
    As for robotic mowers Husqvarna  are about the best and they have four in the range with varying prices and specifications
  • glasgowdanglasgowdan Posts: 630
    Research the price of getting a rpbotic mower installed, then consider the basic/poor quality of the cut you get plus any parts/repairs.

As for vacs... forget them. Get a blower and blow debris onto lawns before you mow them. Quicker, easier, more effective. 
  • Singing GardenerSinging Gardener EssexPosts: 875
    I love my robot mower - but then my grass area wouldn't really be regarded as a lawn as such as it's full of weeds and different types of grasses. I definitely wouldn't use one if I wanted a perfect lawn. It also completely eliminated the moss, which was an unexpected bonus. We installed it ourselves so no expense other than the cost of the mower.
  • paulhortipaulhorti Posts: 3
    We bought a robot mower over a year ago and it's been great and has improved the quality of the grass  We started with one that mowed about 0.75 acres and now have 3 for different areas.  The smallest mows an area the size of a tennis court but you can get them to mow up to 5 acres. 
  • sjt3766sjt3766 Posts: 3
    Hi paulhorti.  What make of robot mower do you have?
    We used to have 1 Husqvarna but now I've replaced it and have 3 Ambrogio robot mowers.
  • sjt3766sjt3766 Posts: 3
    Thanks paulhorti. Which machines are better value for money