Forum home Problem solving

discolouration of leaf

Hi everyone. This is my firs post so I am not sure how this works but I am worried about some of my plants. My Geum and my Scabiousa, both in pots, are showing some signs of discoloured leaves. There are some leaves yellowing on the scabiousa and on both of the plants I have some leaves turning redish/purple. They were only potted about 1 week ago. The redish purple colour seems to be through the veins around the edge of the leaves. I have some yellowing on other perennials I have potted at the same time too. I have just been removing these discoloured leaves as and when. I really tried to pot up all my plants in the conditions best for them. Look forward to hearing from anyone. PS I am a newbie Gardener so any advice is welcome. Thank you!

• BorderlineBorderline Posts: 4,687
    I think it's best you post a photo of each plant to be sure.

Yellowing around base leaves happens for many perennials. As your plants grow taller and mature, the lower leaves grow older and beginning to die out, and sometimes, they turn yellow first. Normally, this will not affect your plant.

Purple in foliage can be a number of reasons, ranging from stressed plants to cold night temperatures, and sometimes fungal infections. 

• amymorg1amymorg1 Posts: 11
    Thanks for the speedy response @Borderline. That’s reassuring to know about the yellowing leaves. I’ve attached some photos of the leaves on the Scabiousa and Geum

Update: I have just noticed from the photo I took an aphid on the leaf! Could that be causing my problems?
    edited June 2019
    Thanks for taking the photos. Nothing to worry about, the first photo of some purple edges are local weather conditions causing leaves to turn that colour. Most likely cold wind damage but will not cause issues for your plant.