Forum home Tools and techniques

New to the garden: container planting questions!

Hi. I'm very new to gardening and at the start of the year did some spring containers: tulips and daff bulbs, with pansies and violas on tops. They all seem to have died now and the pots aren't looking so great. I'd like to replace them with some summer/autumn flowers and maybe some greenery that will last more into winter. I'm a bit lost as how to do that though.. do I just dig out the existing plants and put in the new ones? Should I be save any of the roots/bulbs for next year? Or do they get thrown away now they've died back? Apologies if this is a silly question - any advice would be gratefully received!

• Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 23,756
    edited June 2019
    Hi and welcome to the Forum.
    Never ever be afraid to ask questions because you think they may be considered " silly " we've all got to start somewhere and none of us knows everything. 
    I'd keep the daff bulbs as they'll come back if planted in Autumn, I'd stick everything else in the compost bin. 
    Garden centres are full of plants for containers now, so go crazy and get planting.  :D
    Devon.
  • iz.maeiz.mae Posts: 4
    @Hostafan1 thanks for the welcome and for the advice. Really appreciate it! Should I save the tulip bulbs too? Or just the daffs? And should I do anything special to them, or just shake off the soil and stick them in the shed until Autumn? I've already been eyeing up lots of pretty plants!