Forum home Problem solving

Planting above rainwater Soakaway

Hi 

First post and I am pretty new to gardening so any help would be appreciated :)

We are having to have a new soakaway dug and to cut a long story short the easiest place to put one is in this circular bed in our front patio.

The current plant (I think its a castor oil or false castor oil plant?) will need to be removed. Our builder says anything with a shallow root system will be fine to plant on top…so any suggestions!?

Id like a large shrub/brush and for it to be a least 1m tall (pref around 1.5m tall) and flowering, it MUST have a shallow root system…I was thinking maybe a Hydrangea (if so suggestions on variety) but would welcome any other suggestions.

The bed is quite big…around 2.5m across and I'd like little or low maintenance if possible?

• wild edgeswild edges The north west of south east WalesPosts: 7,556
    Are you using the Polypipe soakaway crates? Generally you have a good half metre of soil cover over those and if you raise the bed up lie you have currently then there should be plenty of depth for the roots of most plants.
    A great library has something in it to offend everybody.
  • JennyJJennyJ DoncasterPosts: 6,138
    How much of the day does it get sun for? rhododendrons have shallow root systems but don't like full sun all day (but I think the same is true of hydrangeas - prefer part shade).
  • TheVanguardTheVanguard Posts: 109
    Hi the area is north facing so is shaded by house for part of the day...

i am not sure how deep it will be, I think he mentioned it will be covered in some kind of material....

i wanted shallow roots roots to avoid any future problems...
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 77,480
    If it’s a north facing bed have a look at the oakleaved hydrangeas. A larger plant and more elegant flowers than the more usual mopheads with the added bonus of great autumn colour from the foliage.