Forum home Problem solving

Novice gardener please help

Hi,this is my first time gardening. I’m very passionate but have no idea what I’m doing. 

Can you please help identify each image as friend or foe? Plant or weed?

is there a way you can tell a flower from a weed?

thanks in advance

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 77,441
    They’re all usually regarded as ‘weeds’ apart from the finely divided blue-grey leaves at the top of the fourth picture which looks like escholtzia californica. 

Theres no no hard and fast rule I’m afraid  ... you have to get to know plants and decide on your style of gardening. 😊 

hope that helps ... you can always ask us 😊 
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• josusa47josusa47 Posts: 3,532
    Welcome to the forum, Emily, and to the wonderful world of gardening.  Most gardeners define a weed as a plant growing where it's not wanted.  So any plant has the potential to be a weed.  

Some weeds such as the dreaded horsetail and Japanese knotweed, live for years and have deep roots which makes them difficult to dig out.  Often, with this sort, a new plant can grow from a tiny piece of root.  Other weeds such as goosegrass complete their life cycle in a single year, and disappear in the winter, but not before they have produced masses of seeds which get everywhere.  This kind tend to be low-growing, sprawling things that can quickly cover a lot of ground, but their bark is worse than their bite.  They are soft sappy things that can easily be gathered up in handfuls.

I'll get back to you after lunch and ID some of your pictures, if someone hasn't beaten me to it while I'm filling my face.
  • josusa47josusa47 Posts: 3,532
    Hi, I'm back.