Forum home Problem solving

Weeding

This has probably been discussed before but what is generally the best way to keep weeds under control ? There is a large garden which I've been maintaining for some friends for about 6 months .they have got some large fruit and veg borders which seems to always be a loosing battle trying to control the weeds .they like it kept weed free and after various attempts at weeding them it seems like a waste of my time as only 2 weeks later there overrun again with weeds .weed control fabric not an option  .what I've been doing so far is forking up as much as possible each time and disposing of them in the green bin and not the compost heap .I have been wondering if after weeding next time a layer of well composted stable manure applied as a mulch might help? It seems to be mostly chickweed,bindweed ,ground elder and dandelions and there is 2 borders roughly around 4x3meters  
any ideas please 

• LynLyn DevonPosts: 19,878
    Those are the same weeds as I have, I just dig them out when I see them. I don’t like using poisons, that’s gardening it’s a never ending job.
    Gardening on the wild, windy west side of Dartmoor. 

• fidgetbonesfidgetbones Posts: 15,857
    Regular use of  sharp hoe.
    I confess to not using one as often as I should. Most of my veg go in as plants, that gives them a good start and they tend to thrive even if I don't weed as often as I should. You have to develop a bit of a blind eye if you have a large patch and want it pristine.  A mulch would stop annuals, but not bindweed or dandelions.

You don't stop doing new things because you get old, you get old because you stop doing new things. <3
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 77,347
    I agree ... regular and frequent use of a sharp Dutch hoe is the way to keep those weeds under control. 
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• SkandiSkandi Northern DenmarkPosts: 1,443