Forum home Problem solving

New garden owner - almost completely overgrown

Hi all,

I am quite new to gardening - or perhaps new to maintaining a large garden. I've moved into a lovely new place with a large garden. I neglected it over winter and now it's completely overgrown. 

There is a general lawn area with a rose bed which is pretty managable, however at the back I have a 'secret garden' - a secluded area canopied by several trees and bordered by bushes of some sort. The whole area is overgrown with ivy and weeds and I have no idea where to start. 

The whole floor is intertwining roots and sprouting weeds.

Where should I begin with such a task?
Any direction appreciated.

- Bob
Despite what it may seem, my username is not LSD related 😂

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 77,410
    Hello Bob 😊 

if if you post some photos of your garden there’ll be lots of folk on here with suggestions about how to tame it 😊 
    “I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• Busy-LizzieBusy-Lizzie Posts: 18,462
    Do you want to use weedkillers or would you prefer to dig?
    Dordogne and Norfolk
  • AnniDAnniD Posts: 9,615
    Hello @acid_freedom, welcome to the forum. :)
    Do you want to keep it as a "secret garden" or open the area up? 
    As Dove says, photos will be a help, and if you can give some idea of what you would like to do with it,  that would help as well.
    I agree with Hazel, it's best to tackle it a bit at a time, you may have hidden treasures in there plant wise.
  • mrtjformanmrtjforman Posts: 331
    start with some gloves and garden loppers to remove all the ivy. Trample the weeds down and get and idea of whats left.

Eventually the weeds will have to be dug up but like others have said I'd focus on seeing what you have in this garden. It's best to see each plant perform throughout a whole season of summer to spring to see what work needs doing.