New to raspberries - dead or alive?

BhasBhas Posts: 16
Hi,
Bare with me... I'm new to this! I bought some bare root Tulameen canes in March and planted them up in large pots according to pack instructions and after looking at the RHS website.  I didn't cut them back as they were only about 10 inches high.  One of them has a single shoot (sorry if that's the wrong term) about three quarters of the way up the cane with a few leaves and buds.  Another one looks like it will get some new growth about a third of the way up, sprouting from a place that looks like it was pruned previously.  Other than that, absolutely nothing.  I've given them all a scratch and all but one is green under the bark.  The one that was brown and brittle I cut all the way back to the soil and was going to pull it up but when I felt around for the roots I found about an inch of stumpy growth from the bottom of the cane under the soil so I've left it in.  Can anyone tell me what's going on with them?  Everything I've seen about growing raspberries implies that I should be awash with shoots and leaves by now.
Thank you so much.     

• fidgetbonesfidgetbones Posts: 13,561
    Raspberries prefer being in the ground to pots.  March is a bit late for bare root canes, they have probably been hanging around a bit too long.   You should have cut them down to a couple of inches above the soil, but leave them now. Keep watering and hope. New canes formed this year will give you fruit next year.
    You don't stop doing new things because you get old, you get old because you stop doing new things. <3
  • BhasBhas Posts: 16
    Raspberries prefer being in the ground to pots.  March is a bit late for bare root canes, they have probably been hanging around a bit too long.   You should have cut them down to a couple of inches above the soil, but leave them now. Keep watering and hope. New canes formed this year will give you fruit next year.